Amoz Oz wins Franz Kafka Prize

The Prague-based Franz Kafka Society has awarded this year’s Franz Kafka Prize to Israeli writer Amos Oz. Oz is coming to the award ceremony that will take place in October and I hope, like 2011 winner John Banville did, will come to Kafka Society HQ to speak more informally, read from his work and take some questions. I have no idea if he’ll do this and if he does I probably won’t publicize the event because I want to be able to get a seat (I had front row for Banville) but as with Banville I’ll write about what he says.

Last year’s winner was Czech writer and literary theorist Daniela Hodrová, with previous winners being something of a mix of international (Haruki Murakami, Philip Roth, etc.), Central European (Péter Nádas, Elfriede Jelinek, etc.) and Czech writers (Arnošt Lustig, Václav Havel, etc.).

The prize is awarded for a writer’s entire body of work. To qualify a writer needs to have at least two books translated into Czech.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Literary Prizes


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: