Ales Steger in B O D Y

“The chauffeur takes off his blindfold and leaves him in front of an unfamiliar villa by a lake. The door opens to a dim living room. Crackling embers in the fireplace. Some twenty masked people, cloaked in black habits. Latin plainsong…”

From Absolution by Aleš Šteger, translated from the Slovene by by by Urška Charney and Noah Charney and published by Istros Books.

absolution-cover-web_57c6a785aac46_250x800r

The literary thriller has been described as being in the tradition of Bulgakov, Gogol and Kafka and of being “a journey into the heart of a European darkness.”

Read more Saturday European Fiction.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Saturday European Fiction

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: