Milan Kundera wins Kafka Prize

The Franz Kafka Society has announced that the winner of this year’s award is Milan Kundera. The 91 year-old writer responded to the announcement from Paris by phone, saying he was particularly honored to receive the Kafka Prize.

The Kafka Prize has a long list of prestigious previous winners, including a brief run where it seemed to be a precursor to winning the Nobel Prize – Elfriede Jelinek, Harold Pinter in successive years – while others include Philip Roth, Claudio Magris, Amos Oz, Haruki Murakami, Margaret Atwood and Peter Handke (who most recently won the Nobel as well).

The Kafka Society has more information in the press release (Czech only), which you can read here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Literary Prizes


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: