Warwick Prize for Women in Translation

The entries for the first annual Warwick Prize for Women in Translation have been announced. The 58 books written by women, translated into English and published by in the UK or Ireland from April 1, 2016 to March 31, 2017 can be read on a full list from the prize’s website here.


It includes some major writers and relative unknowns. There are Nobel winners, with two titles listed by Svetlana Alexievich from Belarus, Chernobyl Prayer and Second-hand Time, the first translated by Anna Gunin and Arch Tait (who has a translation in B O D Y), the latter by Bela Sheyavich. Herta Müller also has a book, The Fox Was Ever The Hunter, translated from German by Philip Boehm.


Other entrants and translators who have appeared in B O D Y + Literalab include perennial favorite Slovak Uršuľa Kovalyk and translators Julia and Peter Sherwood for the novel The Equestrienne. Translator Megan McDowell for her rendition of Samanta Schweblin’s sensation Fever Dream, which made it to the Man Booker International prize shortlist.


The list of entries is still about 100 below that of the aforementioned Man Booker prize, which shows how big the disparity is between the number of books translated by male authors and those of women. This precisely is why this prize has been started. There will be an awards ceremony in November in Warwick announcing the winner.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Literary Prizes, Translation


Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: